Seven municipal corporations in UP to be developed as Smart Cities

Wed, 2019-10-09 16:10 -- SCC India Staff

Seven municipal corporations

During the cabinet meet, the Uttar Pradesh Government agreed to develop seven municipal corporations as Smart Cities. Ayodhya and Gorakhpur are part of the seven municipal corporations. Other five corporations include: Meerut, Ghaziabad, Firozabad, Mathura-Vrindavan and Shahjahanpur.

A government spokesperson said, “The Chief Minister had announced development of the seven corporations during this year’s Budget session. A sum of Rs 175 crore has been set aside for this.”

On the 150th birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi, the government also decided to give an additional discount of 5 per cent on sale of khadi in the retail market. In addition to discount being given away by khadi organizations, total discount to consumers between October 2 and December 31 will be 25 per cent. In an attempt for better monitoring of all directorates under the basic education department, the cabinet agreed on a proposal to set up a post for Director General of School Education.

Retired chief justices and justices of the high court as well as their spouses and families will also now receive the same medical facilities as serving chief justices and justices do. To enable ease of business, traders in the State are required to register their shops and commercial establishments only once without any need to renew the registration.