India adds nine new smart cities (Check list here)

Mon, 2018-01-22 12:54 -- SCC India Staff

smart cities

India is truly moving towards its smart cities mission. As promised, the Government has included another nine cities to the overall count of 90 smart cities announced, taking the total number to 99. That said, the cities too are progressing well in its effort to be smart. The nine cities selected have proposed an investment of Rs 12,824 crore, which would be impacting 35.3 lakh persons living in these areas. At present, 82 special purpose vehicle (SPVs) have been formed to turn the smart cities dream into reality.

Meanwhile, the nine selected under India’s flagship Smart Cities Mission in the fourth round are Bareilly, Moradabad and Saharanpur in Uttar Pradesh, Erode in Tamil Nadu, Bihar Sharif in Bihar, Silvasa in Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Diu in Daman and Diu, Kavarati in Lakshadweep and Itanagar in Arunachal Pradesh. In the entire process of selection, it was Uttar Pradesh which benefited the most as three cities are among nine chosen in the latest round is from the state. Shillong will be the 100th city provided it submit its proposal to the Centre in next three months, a senior official said. The nine cities were selected from 15 cities that had submitted their proposals to the ministry.

These cities have proposed to take up various project, including smart roads, rejuvenation of water bodies, cycle tracks, walking paths, smart classrooms, skill development centres, upgradation of health facilities and pan-city projects like integrated command control centre.

Uttar Pradesh’s Meerut, Ghaziabad, Rampur and Raebareli were among cities that failed to make the cut for Smart City tag. Silvassa topped the list of winners in this round. The total proposed investment in the 99 Smart City Mission would be Rs 2.03 lakh crore. As on January 17, Puri said there were 2,948 projects worth Rs 1.38 lakh crore in various stages of implementation, while 189 projects worth Rs 2,237 crore have been completed.

Here is a list of nine new smart cities:
1. Silvassa
2. Erode
3. Diu
4. Bihar Sharif
5. Bareilly
6. Itanagar
7. Moradabad
8. Saharanpur
9. Kavaratti