Bengaluru, Kolkata miss Smart City list

Sat, 2015-08-29 00:30 -- SCC India Staff


Bengaluru and Kolkata are among the top cities that did not make it to the list of 98 that have been nominated for the government’s ambitious Smart City project.

Only the Lutyens zone covered by the New Delhi Municipal Council has been named as a contender, leaving out the larger part of Delhi under the Municipal Corporation of Delhi. Other prominent cities that failed to make the cut are Shimla, Gangtok, Patna, Thiruvananthapuram, Puducherry and Itanagar. Even Gurgaon and Noida, seen as technology hubs, are not part of the list.

Chennai is the only metro city named as a whole to be a part of the project, while pockets such as Navi Mumbai, Greater Mumbai, Nashik and Thane have made it to the list. Also, New Town, a satellite town to Kolkata, has been selected.

Uttar Pradesh, which had the largest quota of cities at 13, has nominated 12 so far. There is a tie between Meerut and Raebareli in the first phase of the city challenge competition. The 12 include Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s constituency Varanasi, along with Lucknow, Agra, Allahabad and Kanpur.

To read full article click here

Source: Business Standard